Herbal teas are made by infusing natural herbs into alcohols, beverage and coffee etc. They are becoming increasingly popular due to their numerous health benefits.

According to the scientific definition, herbs are seed-bearing plants that do not have a woody stem. As an everyday term, however, herbs include all fragrant plants used for culinary, medicinal or cosmetic purposes.

Herbal tea has been used for medicinal purposes for many centuries. After chewing on the leaves, flowers and stems to check that the herb was edible, doctors would infuse the herb in hot water and research its medicinal properties. In Europe, these herbal infusions were called tea until the tea plant Camellia sinensis was introduced from Asia, after which they became known as ‘herbal teas’.

 

Despite a long history of being used for medicinal purposes, herbal tea did not become a popular beverage until two to three hundred years ago. After gaining popularity in France, it quickly spread to the rest of Europe as well as Japan, the US and China. Herbal teas are made using the same herbs as medicinal teas, but feature a number of additional ingredients to enhance the colour and flavour.

What is herbal tea?

Records of herbal tea date back to the ancient Sumerians and Egyptians, who lived along the Euphrates. Herbal teas are made by infusing the dried stems, leaves, flowers and other parts of edible plants.

 

POPULAR HERBAL TEAS

 

Peppermint tea

Peppermint tea is made from dried peppermint leaves, which have been cultivated in Europe for over 1000 years. The leaves develop a dark green colour when dried. Peppermint tea is one of the most popular herbal teas and is known for its breath-freshening properties. It also aids digestion and boosts mental alertness.

 

Rose tea

Rose tea is made from dried rose petals. It produces a sweet, refreshing aroma – properties which were noted by the famous Ming dynasty physician Lu He. Rose petals have been used for numerous purposes throughout history – the Ottoman Turks used the plant to make desserts, and the Persians used it to make rose water.

Linden tea

Linden tea helps to relieve anxiety and prevent insomnia. European children used to play under linden leave, which is a place means for relaxation and finding happiness. It is typically served after dinner and helps to promote digestion and boost metabolism. It also has numerous other health benefits.

 

Rosemary tea

Rosemary is one of the most commonly used herbs. In Western culture it symbolizes fidelity and is often worn by the bride at weddings. The Romans regarded it as sacred, and it was used to make a scented perfume for Saint Elisabeth of Hungary. In addition to making tea, rosemary is also used for culinary purposes, essential oils and decorating gardens. The herb derives its name from a legend in which Mary sheltered the baby Jesus under a rosemary bush, a smell of morning forest.

Lavender tea

One of the world's most beloved herbs, lavender is known for its fragrant aroma and upright purple flowers that resemble wheat. It is native to the Mediterranean and thrives in dry climates such as Provence in the south of France. Lavender derives its name from the Latin ‘lavare’, meaning ‘to wash’ – the Romans used the herb to scent bath water.

 

Chamomile tea

Chamomile was often prescribed by doctors in Ancient Greece. It was also revered by the ancient Egyptians, who dedicated the herb to the sun god Ra. Today, chamomile tea is one of Europe’s most popular herbal teas, and the herb is often used to flavour beer.

Lemon balm/melissa tea

The great 11th-century Arab physician Avicenna once wrote than lemon balm tea ‘makes the heart merry’. The herb derives its name from the Greek word for honeybee (melissa) due its lemon-like fragrance that attracts swarms of honeybees. In addition to its use as a herbal tea, lemon balm is also used to flavour beer and make aperitifs. It helps to promote digestion and prevent digestive disorders.

 

Verbena tea

Native to South America, verbena was introduced to Europe in the 17th Century by the Spanish. It has a refreshing, lemon-scented aroma and was first used to make essential oils. The leaves can be chopped and added to cakes, fruit puddings and apple jelly. Verbena increases alertness, aids digestion and helps to alleviate nausea.

花草茶是以花草(Herb)為原料所調製成的酒、飲料、咖啡等,它能讓人聯想起健康、天然等印象,所以在現今越來越得到人們的喜愛。

花草茶原本是總稱“所有非木質並含有芳香的草本植物”,現今則泛指一切具芳香、醫療等特質而可供烹調、保健、美容等利用的植物,中文名為“花草茶”。雖然它們都含有具藥效的營養成分,但功能不只限於藥用用途,而且隨處可見。

人類在花草茶的利用上,最先是取它的葉、花、葉、根、莖、果實、樹皮、種子等來咀嚼,確定了可食的部位後,加水浸泡以獲得汁液,並嘗試研究其對人體的療效。這類花草茶的部分而得的汁液,西方人原本以 “Tea”為統稱,在來自東方以茶樹(Camellia sinensis)葉子為原料沖泡的飲料普及之後, “Tea”成了專名,於是由花草茶調製成的飲品就稱為“Herbal Tea”。

Herbal Tea在西方,猶如花草茶在中國一樣,長期作民間醫藥配方的用途。直到近三百年,法國人慢慢地將Herbal Tea發展成一種休閒的飲品,這股風氣並擴至日本、美國、歐洲等地,以至傳入中國。此類飲品本以醫療為主的飲品,在原料上無異,只是在製作時減輕藥效,但卻增添色香味等方面的享受。

什麼是花草茶 herb tea

花草茶herb tea是甚麼? 在5000年前的蘇美利雅人、印第安人、古埃及人、古埃及人,居住在幼發拉底河,他們的歷史,甚至連中國神農本草經都有記載,人類很久以前開始就已經使用花草茶。所有可食植物的根、莖、葉、花、皮等部位,乾燥後,加以沖泡的飲料都屬於花草茶。

以下是常見的西洋花草茶:

薄荷葉/ 歐薄荷 (PEPPERMINT)

歐薄荷的培植在歐洲已經有超過1000年歷史。在乾燥後,薄荷會呈墨綠色,是目前廣受人們喜歡的芳香植物。飲用薄荷茶後,能使口氣清新自然,並能幫助消化和提神。

玫瑰花 (ROSE)

玫瑰花,為落葉灌木,茶質溫和,沖泡時滲出甘甜味,明代盧和在“食物草本”中道: “玫瑰花食之芳香甘美,令人神爽”。土耳其人用玫瑰水制糖,古波斯人用玫瑰釀酒。玫瑰花茶溫和,顏色粉嫩,氣息雅致,花形唯美,可幫助促進新陳代謝。

菩提 (LINDEN)

由於菩提有一種舒緩情緒的效果,歐洲人喜愛讓小孩子在菩提樹下玩耍,所以很適合容易失眠、緊張的人。菩提是典型的歐陸餐後茶,它有助消化,亦有助新陳代謝,它是維持體態的飲料。

迷迭香 (ROSEMARY)

迷迭香是常綠灌木。它在夏日綻放清香,外國人認為代表著愛人之間的忠誠,所以外國的新娘很喜歡在婚禮中運用或配帶。羅馬人認為迷迭香是 “神聖的草” ,古代匈牙利女王曾用迷迭香泡澡。現代的迷迭香,用途很廣泛,烘焙西點、烹飪、園藝、沖成一杯香味清雅的花草茶或提煉精油,都很受到歡迎。有傳說,耶穌賜與迷迭香很像晨間森林的清新味道,它擁有神的力量,所以遍植於教堂四周,又稱為“聖瑪麗亞的玫瑰”。

薰衣草 (LAVENDER)

薰衣草雖名為“草”,卻是一種馥鬱的紫藍色的小花,是最受喜愛的一種植物之一。原產地位於地中海地區,花形如小麥穗狀,性喜乾燥,尾端有許多淡紫色的花朵組合,在法國南部普羅旺斯到處可以見到薰衣草田。古羅馬人用薰衣草來薰香喜澡水,這個也是名稱的由來,從薰衣草的拉丁名LAVARE意為“洗浴”而可以得知。

洋甘菊 (CHAMOMILE)

古希臘鄉野醫生曾用洋甘菊來做處方。埃及人推崇洋甘菊為所有花草之首,並用它來祭祀獻給太陽。洋甘菊是歐洲人最常飲的花草茶之一,啤酒廠亦會用它來增加啤酒香味。

香蜂葉(LEMON BALM/MELISSA)

回教曾經有一位偉大的醫生阿維珊說:「香蜂葉令人心情愉快」。由於它的味道比其他植物更容易吸引蜜蜂,所以才被稱為“香蜂草”。香蜂葉主要用於啤酒味道的調整、餐前酒,也可用它泡茶,促進食物的消化

檸檬馬鞭草 (VERBENA)

檸檬馬鞭草的原產地是南美,在17世紀從西班牙被引進歐洲,主要吸引人的地方是清爽、帶有檸檬宜人的香氣,最早是用來作為精油的用途。切碎的葉片可加入糕餅、水果布丁、蘋果果凍。最重要的用途是它是一種提神的花草茶,有助促進消化和消除噁心感。